1. Home
  2. About NIDDK
  3. Advisory & Coordinating Committees
  4. Clinical Obesity Research Panel

Clinical Obesity Research Panel

The NIDDK Clinical Obesity Research Panel (CORP) is the successor to the National Task Force on Prevention and Treatment of Obesity, which was in existence from June 1991 until June 2003. The NIDDK CORP, composed of leading obesity researchers and clinicians, is charged with providing advice to the NIDDK's Advisory Council on important clinical research needs related to obesity prevention and treatment, including concepts for potential future clinical studies and workshops. The CORP serves in an advisory capacity to the Weight-control Information Network, an information service of the NIDDK. The CORP is placed organizationally under the auspices of the NIDDK Advisory Council and a member of the NIDDK Advisory Council serves on the CORP as a liaison member.

CORP Membership

Executive Director: Susan Z. Yanovski, M.D.
Co-Director, Office of Obesity Research
National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases
National Institutes of Health

Rexford S. Ahima, M.D., Ph.D.
Director, Division of Endocrinology, Diabetes & Metabolism
Professor of Medicine
Bloomberg Distinguished Professor of Diabetes
Johns Hopkins University

Molly Bray, Ph.D.
Chair, Department of Nutritional Sciences
Professor and Susan T. Jastrow Chair for Excellence in Nutritional Sciences
The University of Texas at Austin

Anita P. Courcoulas, M.D., M.P.H., F.A.C.S.
Professor of Surgery
Director, Minimally Invasive Bariatric & General Surgery
University of Pittsburgh Medical Center

Penny Gordon-Larsen, Ph.D.
Professor of Nutrition and Associate Dean for Research
Gillings School of Global Public Health
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Samuel Klein, M.D.
Professor of Medicine and Nutritional Science
Director, Center for Human Nutrition
Washington University School of Medicine

Wendy M Kohrt, Ph.D.
Professor of Medicine and Obstetrics & Gynecology
Nancy Anschutz Endowed Chair In Women's Health Research
University of Colorado – Anschutz Medical Campus

Thomas N. Robinson, M.D., M.P.H.
The Irving Schulman, M.D. Endowed Professor in Child Health
Professor of Pediatrics and of Medicine
Division of General Pediatrics
Stanford Prevention Research Center
Stanford University School of Medicine

Elsie M. Taveras, M.D., M.P.H.
Associate Professor of Population Medicine, Harvard Pilgrim Health Care Institute, Harvard Medical School
Assistant Professor of Pediatrics, Department of Pediatrics, Children's Hospital Boston

Delia Smith West, Ph.D.
SmartState Endowed Chair, Technology Center to Advance Healthful Lifestyles
Professor, Department of Exercise Science
Arnold School of Public Health
University of South Carolina