U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

NIH Nutrition Research Task Force

The National Institutes of Health Nutrition Research Task Force (NRTF) was established in October 2016 to coordinate and accelerate progress in nutrition research across the NIH.  Dr. Christopher Lynch, director of NIDDK’s Office of Nutrition Research, serves as the task force executive secretary.

Developing the NIH-Wide Strategic Plan on Nutrition Research

NRTF is guiding the development of the first NIH-wide 10-year strategic plan for nutrition research.

How to Provide Feedback

The NRTF is seeking input in the development of the plan, including from the public, other federal agencies, scientific and professional associations and other organizations, and the scientific community. Provide your input through April 16, 2017.

A graphic that includes the logo for ideabuzz as well as a photo of a building's roof that reads National Institutes of Health. 

Accelerating Nutrition Research

NRTF will emphasize cross-cutting, innovative opportunities to accelerate nutrition research across a wide range of areas, from basic science to experimental design to training. These opportunities will complement and enhance ongoing research efforts across NIH on diseases and conditions affected by nutrition. The graph below shows estimated NIH nutrition research funding for fiscal year (FY) 2016.

Estimated NIH Nutrition Research Funding, FY 2016

A complex bar graph with Nutrition Research Awards (in millions of dollars) on the Y-axis and NIH Institutes and Centers on the X-axis.  NIDDK recieves the most money, with NHLBI and NCI coming in second and third respectively.

Plan Implementation

NRTF will appoint a senior leadership group to guide implementation of the plan once it is complete.

NRTF Members

The Task Force is chaired by Dr. Griffin P. Rodgers, director of the National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases (NIDDK). Co-chairs are Dr. Gary Gibbons, director of the National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute; Dr. Douglas R. Lowy, acting director of the National Cancer Institute; and Dr. Diana W. Bianchi, director of the Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development. Participants on the Task Force represent these and other institutes within NIH.​

NRTF Timeline

Proposed NRTF Strategic Planning Timeline