U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

Division of Diabetes, Endocrinology, and Metabolic Diseases

Staff are listed in alphabetical order by last name. Read a description of the Division of Diabetes, Endocrinology, and Metabolic Diseases.

Name ascending
Title sort
Program Area sort
Contact Information
Abraham, Kristin Program DirectorThe role of inflammation in the pathophysiology of metabolic disease and the use of mouse models in metabolic phenotyping abrahamk@mail.nih.gov
301-451-8048
Akolkar, Beena Program DirectorClinical research in the prevention and immunopathogenesis of Type 1 Diabetes and the genetics and genomics of Type 1 and Type 2 Diabetes akolkarb@mail.nih.gov
240-593-1733
Arreaza-Rubin, Guillermo Program DirectorDiabetes and endocrine disease bioengineering and glucose sensing arreazag@mail.nih.gov
301-594-4724
Arrowchis, Leeanna Data Analyst (Contractor)Common Fund Metabolomics arrowchisl@mail.nih.gov
301-594-3612
Bekirov, Iddil Program Analyst (Contractor)Common Fund programs: 4D Nucleome, Illuminating the Druggable Genome and Molecular Transducers of Physical Activity iddil.bekirov@nih.gov
301-402-5090
Blondel, Olivier Program DirectorPathophysiology of the endocrine pancreas in diabetes; technology development (i.e. genomics and systems biology) in metabolic disease blondelol@mail.nih.gov
301-451-7334
Brathwaite, Debbie Support Assistant (Contractor)Administrative support for the scientific staff debbie.brathwaite@nih.gov
301-594-4703
Bremer, Andrew Program DirectorClinical studies in gestational diabetes and maternal outcomes, and HIV/AIDS-associated metabolic and endocrine dysfunction andrew.bremer@nih.gov
301-402-7886
Burch, Henry Program Director  henry.burch@nih.gov
301-827-0827
Castle, Arthur Program DirectorFunctional metabolomics and technology development to measure metabolic disease; fellowships and institutional training grants castlea@mail.nih.gov
301-594-7719
Cowie, Catherine Program DirectorEpidemiology of diabetes, including development, control, interventions and complications cowiec@mail.nih.gov
301-594-8804
Eggerman, Thomas Program DirectorCystic fibrosis research and translation centers, inborn errors of metabolism, clinical trials, and islet transplantation eggermant@mail.nih.gov
301-594-8813
Fradkin, Judith Director  fradkinj@mail.nih.gov
301-496-7349
Green, Neal Project Manager (Contractor)Clinical trials specialist, Islet transplantation, DSMB/OSMB/EEC Administration greenne@mail.nih.gov
301-594-8815
Haft, Carol Renfrew Program DirectorAdipocyte development and biology in various fat depots; protein trafficking, secretion, processing and ER stress in metabolic disease haftc@mail.nih.gov
301-594-7689
Hyde, James Program DirectorNeurobiology of energy balance and body composition in obesity; Diabetes Research Centers hydej@mail.nih.gov
301-594-7692
Jones, Teresa Program DirectorDiabetic wound healing, diabetic neuropathy, basic and clinical research of diabetes complications involving multiple organ systems jonester@mail.nih.gov
301-435-2996
Laughlin, Maren Program DirectorIntegrative metabolism and physiology, and in vivo molecular and functional imaging, as relevant to energy balance in metabolic disease laughlinm@mail.nih.gov
301-594-8802
Lee, Christine Program DirectorClinical studies on the development, diagnosis and medical treatment of type 2 diabetes in adults; clinical studies of diabetes in older adults christine.lee2@nih.gov
301-594-8806
Leschek, Ellen Program DirectorType 1 and type 2 diabetes clinical research; inborn errors of metabolism ellen.leschek@nih.gov
301-402-8291
Li, Yan Program DirectorSmall Business Technology Development, DEM K99/R00 Pathway to Independence Awards and R13 Conference Grants liy7@mail.nih.gov
301-435-3721
Linder, Barbara Program DirectorType 2 diabetes in children and youth; medical management of type 1 diabetes in children, youth and adults; human studies of metabolic imprinting linderb@mail.nih.gov
301-594-0021
Malozowski, Saul Program DirectorNeuroendocrinology of hypothalamic-pituitary axis, neuropeptide signaling and receptors; hormonal regulation of bone and mineral metabolism sm007@nih.gov
301-451-4683
Margolis, Ronald Project Scientist (Contractor)Signaling and gene expression by the nuclear receptor superfamily and their co-regulators, as it relates to metabolism and metabolic disease margolisr@mail.nih.gov
240-593-2640
Martey, Louis Program AnalystCoordination and preparation of pre and post council materials, analysis and evaluation of project funding for all grant mechanisms by DEM, supervision of administrative support staff marteylk@mail.nih.gov
301-594-7733
Otradovec, Heidi Program AnalystProvide support to the scientific staff with tracking dollar commitments and grant initiatives for the T1D funds and track DEM travel funds. otradovech@mail.nih.gov
301-451-7609
Pawlyk, Aaron Program Director​Key regulators of intermediary metabolism; drug discovery; pharmacogenetics and precision medicine. pawlykac@mail.nih.gov
301-451-7299
Sato, Sheryl Program DirectorBasic mechanisms underlying the organogenesis and regeneration of pancreatic islets during health and disease smsato@mail.nih.gov
301-594-8811
Sechi, Salvatore Program DirectorProteomics, Systems Biology, and Structural Biology as applied to diabetes, metabolic, and endocrine diseases sechis@mail.nih.gov
301-594-8814
Silva, Corinne Program DirectorSignaling pathways, nuclear receptors and nutrient sensing in metabolic tissues; role of intrauterine environment in offspring metabolic disease silvacm@mail.nih.gov
301-451-7335
Smith, Philip Deputy DirectorDiabetes, endocrinology, and metabolic diseases smithp@mail.nih.gov
301-594-8816
Spain, Lisa Program DirectorEtiology and pathogenesis of type 1 diabetes and other autoimmune endocrine diseases spainl@mail.nih.gov
301-451-9871
Staten, Myrlene Project Scientist (Contractor)Pharmacologic interventions and/or other medically related interventions to prevent or treat Type 2 Diabetes in adult patients statenm@niddk.nih.gov
301-402-3151
Stoeckel, Luke Program DirectorCognitive and clinical neuroscience of the non-homeostatic (i.e., extra-hypothalamic) contributions to obesity and diabetes and their complications luke.stoeckel@nih.gov
301-741-9223
Teff, Karen Program DirectorEffects of bariatric surgery on diabetes and metabolism, clinical and basic science of hepatic metabolism and hypoglycemia, human sleep and diabetes karen.teff@nih.gov
301-594-8803
Thornton, Pamela Program DirectorHealth Disparities; Implementation Science; Centers for Diabetes Translation Research pamela.thornton@nih.gov
301-480-6476
Wang, Xujing Program DirectorData science; computation modeling; integrative genomics; network biology; genotype-phenotype relationship wangx21@mail.nih.gov
301-451-2862
Xia, Ashley Program DirectorCommon Fund Molecular Transducers of Physical Activity ashley.xia@nih.gov
301-480-9505