U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

NIDDK Fellowship Office

About the Office

The NIDDK Fellowship Office is dedicated to providing outstanding service and support to students, postdoctoral fellows, clinical fellows, and other trainees in the NIDDK Division of Intramural Research. NIDDK currently has about 350 trainees, the fifth largest group among the NIH Institutes. We are deeply involved in all facets of the training experience and aspire to become an important resource. Our broad portfolio of activities includes, but is not limited to the following functions:
  • recruitment of fellows
  • orientation for postbacs and postdocs
  • advocacy regarding benefits and privileges
  • tracking and monitoring research progress and Individual Development Plans
  • annual informational surveys and exit interviews
  • secondary mentoring
  • professional and career development (for example, grant writing, job counseling, and networking)
  • brown bag lunch speaker series for postbacs
  • NIDDK postdoc speaker series
  • summer internship program
  • conflict resolution

Contact Information

Fellow Recruitment and Career D​evelopment Office (FRCDO)

Division of Intramural Research
National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases
Building 12A, Room B45 12 South Drive
Bethesda, Maryland 20892- 5670

Phone: (301) 451-3640
Fax: (301) 402-7461
Email: Fellowships@intra.niddk.nih.gov (mention topic of inquiry in subject line)

Staff Mem​​bers

​Kala Viswanathan​
Program Specialist
​Lorraine Moore
Program Assistant

Coordinating Groups

The NIDDK Fellowship Office staff works closely and meets regularly with the following groups to plan and coordinate activities that will enhance the overall educational and research training experience at NIDDK.

Faculty Ad​visory Board

NIDDK Fellows Adviso​ry Board (FAB Group)

  • Brooks Leitner
  • Julia Licholai
  • Sampada Kharade
  • Sarah Morgan
  • Mohammad Rahman
  • Sukanya Suresh
  • Pengfei Tian
  • Liz Townsend
  • Jaira Vaconcellos
  • Jennifer West
  • Xiaonan Zhao

NIDDK Fellows Committee​ (FelCom) Representative

  • Sarah Morgan, Ph.D. Basic Science Representative​​