1. Home
  2. News
  3. Meetings and Workshops
  4. Meeting on Measurement of Urinary Symptoms (MOMUS)
Banner for the 2011 Meeting on Measurement of Urinary Symptoms

Meeting on Measurement of Urinary Symptoms (MOMUS)

Nov. 14 - 15, 2011 Location Contacts
Event Details Agenda

Event Details


Symptoms of lower urinary tract dysfunction (LUTD) are common both in men and women. Both incidence and prevalence rates increase with age; consequently, treatment costs pose a major financial challenge to the Nation. The American Urological Association (AUA) symptom score, which was initially intended for benign prostatic hyperplasia (BPH) patients, is widely used in clinical practice. In addition, it is often used as an endpoint in clinical trials to assess symptom-based clinical improvement in benign lower urinary tract disease. Using the current AUA symptom score may not only be misleading clinically and correlate weakly with patient satisfaction, but also can be scientifically invalid and impede scientific progress. Thus, a better measurement tool that focuses on patient reported outcomes (PRO) is essential to quantify early, late, transient, and persistent symptoms of LUTD both in men and women.

The goal of this meeting is to increase discussion about this topic among various populations with different expertise: urologists, patients, other clinicians, researchers, industry, advocacy groups, and various government agencies such as the U.S. Food and Drug Administration, the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, and the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality.

Meeting Objectives

  • Discuss the uses and shortcomings of current symptom-based instruments in research of LUTD.
  • Disseminate state-of-the-art methodology to improve patient reported outcomes (PRO) of LUTD symptoms.
  • Discuss the validation and qualification process of new measurement tools, and patient phenotyping.
  • Align the new LUTD symptom measurement tool among involved parties.

Planning Committee

Michael Albo (malbo@mail.ucsd.edu)
Lisa Begg (beggl@od.nih.gov)
Paul Eggers (paul.eggers@nih.gov)
Ziya Kirkali (ziya.kirkali@nih.gov)
John Kusek (john.kusek@nih.gov)
Mark Litwin (mlitwin@mednet.ucla.edu)
Kevin McVary (k-mcvary@northwestern.edu)
Robert Star (robert.star@nih.gov)
John Wei (jtwei@med.umich.edu)
Kevin Weinfurt (kevin.weinfurt@duke.edu)
Yining Xie (yining.xie@nih.gov)