1. Home
  2. News
  3. Meetings and Workshops
  4. Total Pancreatectomy With Islet Auto-Transplantation (TP-IAT)
Banner for the 2014 Workshop on Total Pancreatectomy with Islet Auto-Transplantation

Total Pancreatectomy With Islet Auto-Transplantation (TP-IAT)

July 23, 2014 Location Contacts
Event Details Agenda

Event Details

The purpose of the “Total Pancreatectomy with Islet Auto-Transplantation (TP-IAT): Gaps, Needs, and Opportunities” Workshop is to explore the knowledge gaps, the requirements to advance the more widespread use of this therapy, and the research opportunities for improving the results of this approach to the treatment of chronic pancreatitis. This 1-day workshop, co-chaired by Dr. Melena Bellin of the University of Minnesota and Dr. Andres Gelrud from the University of Chicago, will feature presentations by an international group of experts who will discuss the indications, selection of candidates, and information needed to improve the outcomes of patients. The workshop is open to both clinicians and scientists currently involved in TP-IAT programs and to individuals who are considering starting new TP-IAT programs. Admission to the program is without charge, but preregistration is required.

TP-IAT Organizing Committee

Co-Chairs

Melena Bellin, University of Minnesota
bell0130@umn.edu

Andres Gelrud, University of Chicago
agelrud@bsd.uchicago.edu

Members

David B. Adams, Medical University of South Carolina
adamsdav@musc.edu

Dana Andersen, National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases (NIDDK)
dana.andersen@nih.gov

Michael Appel, NIDDK
appelm@niddk.nih.gov

Appakalai Balamurugan, University of Minnesota
bala@umn.edu

Greg Beilman, University of Minnesota
beilm001@umn.edu

Sherry Brown, NIDDK
Sherry.Brown@nih.gov

Thomas Eggerman, NIDDK
eggermant@extra.niddk.nih.gov

Michael Rickels, University of Pennsylvania Perelman School of Medicine
rickels@mail.med.upenn.edu

Jose Serrano, NIDDK
serranoj@extra.niddk.nih.gov

Vikesh Singh, The Johns Hopkins University
vsingh1@jhmi.edu

David C. Whitcomb, University of Pittsburgh
whitcomb@pitt.edu