1. Home
  2. News
  3. Meetings and Workshops
  4. Endoscopic Ultrasound and Related Technologies for the Diagnosis and Treatment of Pancreatic Disease: Research Gaps and Opportunities
Banner for the 2017 Endoscopic Ultrasound and Related Technologies for the Diagnosis and Treatment of Pancreatic Disease Meeting.

Endoscopic Ultrasound and Related Technologies for the Diagnosis and Treatment of Pancreatic Disease: Research Gaps and Opportunities

July 26, 2017 Location Contacts
Event Details Agenda

Event Details

Background

Endoscopic ultrasound (EUS) provides the highest resolution images of the pancreas and has become widely used in the diagnosis and management of benign and malignant pancreatic disease. EUS-based criteria are used for the diagnosis of chronic pancreatitis; for the localization and identification of mass lesions; and for the capture of fluid, tissue, and cells to enable the diagnosis of cystic and solid lesions of the pancreas.

Purpose

Despite its widespread adoption, EUS methodology is evolving. Criteria for clinical performance and reporting are not uniform, training requirements are variable, and new EUS-based methods for diagnosis and treatment are being developed for clinical validation studies. The purpose of the planned workshop is to explore these advances, inform the community of clinician investigators, and identify research gaps that might shape future funding initiatives by the National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases (NIDDK) and other agencies.

Logistical Plan

The 1-day workshop will be open to the public and will be held at the University Club on the campus of the University of Pittsburgh immediately prior to the start of the annual PancreasFest meeting on July 26, 2017. The workshop will consist of a number of invited expert speakers and moderators who will explore topics chosen by a multidisciplinary organizing committee. The NIDDK will authorize an external meeting planning group, The Scientific Consulting Group, Inc. (SCG) of Gaithersburg, Maryland, to assist with the meeting logistics. Plans for the workshop—including topics, speaker selection, design of the workshop sessions, discussion of possible poster presentations, and engagement with other stakeholders—will be the responsibility of the organizing committee.

Organizing Committee

Co-Chairs

Dr. Linda S. Lee
Brigham and Women’s Hospital–Harvard University

Dr. Vikesh K. Singh
Johns Hopkins University

Members

Dr. Dana K. Andersen
National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases

Dr. Joo Ha Hwang
University of Washington

Dr. Kevin M. McGrath
University of Pittsburgh

Dr. Walter G. Park
Stanford University

Dr. Jose Serrano
National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases

Dr. Tyler Stevens
The Cleveland Clinic

Dr. Mark D. Topazian
Mayo Clinic–Rochester

Dr. Michael B. Wallace
Mayo Clinic–Jacksonville

Dr. Sachin Wani
University of Colorado

Dr. David Whitcomb
University of Pittsburgh

Dr. Juergen K. Willmann
Stanford University

Dr. Dhiraj Yadav
University of Pittsburgh

Faculty List

Dana Andersen
National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases
Email: dana.andersen@nih.gov

Reiko Ashida
Osaka Medical Center for Cancer and Cardiovascular Disease
Email: rashida@goo.jp

Bill Brugge
Massachusetts General Hospital, Harvard Medical School
Email: wbrugge@partners.org

Mimi Canto
Johns Hopkins Medical Institutions
Email: mcanto@jhmi.edu

Ken Chang
University of California, Irvine
Email: kchang@uci.edu

Suresh Chari
Mayo Clinic, Rochester
Email: chari.suresh@mayo.edu

John DeWitt
Indiana University School of Medicine
Email: jodewitt@iu.edu

Joo Ha Hwang
University of Washington School of Medicine
Email: jooha@medicine.washington.edu

Mouen Khashab
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
Email: mkhasha1@jhmi.edu

Kang Kim
University of Pittsburgh
Email: kangkim@upmc.edu

Linda Lee
Brigham and Women’s Hospital, Harvard Medical School
Email: lslee@partners.org

Mike Levy
Mayo Clinic, Rochester
Email: levy.michael@mayo.edu

Kevin McGrath
University of Pittsburgh
Email: mcgrathkm@upmc.edu

Walter Park
Stanford University School of Medicine
Email: wgpark@stanford.edu

Vikesh Singh
Johns Hopkins Hospital
Email: vsingh1@jhmi.edu

Thomas Smyrk
Mayo Clinic, Rochester
Email: smyrk.thomas@mayo.edu

Tyler Stevens
Cleveland Clinic
Email: stevent@ccf.org

Chris Thompson
Brigham and Women’s Hospital, Harvard Medical School
Email: cthompson@hms.harvard.edu

Mark Topazian
Mayo Clinic, Rochester
Email: topazian.mark@mayo.edu

Irving Waxman
University of Chicago
Email: iwaxman@medicine.bsd.uchicago.edu

Michael Wallace
Mayo Clinic, Jacksonville
Email: wallace.michael@mayo.edu

Dhiraj Yadav
University of Pittsburgh
Email: yadavd@upmc.edu

Sachin Wani
University of Colorado
Email: sachin.wani@ucdenver.edu