NIDDK Advisory Council: Members

Griffin P. Rodgers
Rodgers, Griffin P., M.D.
Director, National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases
Photo of Tracey Brown.
Brown, Tracey
Member until Dec. 2022
American Diabetes Association
D'Alessio, David A., M.D.
Professor and Director
Division of Endocrinology
Duke University Medical Center
Photo of Ian Drummond.
Drummond, Iain, Ph.D.
Member until Dec. 2022
Professor and Director
Mount Desert Island Biological Laboratory
Photo of Penny Gordon-Larsen.
Gordon-Larsen, Penny, Ph.D.
Member until Dec. 2022
Professor of Nutrition & Associate Dean for Research
Gillings School of Global Public Health, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill 
Photo of Barbara Kahn
Kahn, Barbara, M.D.
Member until Oct. 2021
George R. Minot Endowed Chair
Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center 
Photograph of Karl Malik
Malik, Karl F., Ph.D.
Executive Secretary
Director, Division of Extramural Activities
National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive
and Kidney Diseases 
Photo of Mark Nelson
Nelson, Mark T., Ph.D.
Member until Dec. 2023
University Distinguished Professor and Chair
Department of Pharmacology
University of Vermont
Photo of Richard Peek
Peek, Richard, M.D.
Member until Oct. 2021
Department of Medicine
Vanderbilt University
Photo of David F. Penson, MD, MPH
Penson, David F., M.D., MPH
Member until Dec. 2023
Professor of Urology
Department of Orology
Vanderbilt University Medical Center 
Photo of Ceciel Rooker
Rooker, Ceciel
Member until Dec. 2023
President and Executive Director
International Foundation for
Gastrointestinal Disorders
Photo of Kathleen M. Sakamoto, MD, PhD
Sakamoto, Kathleen M., M.D., Ph.D.
Member until Dec. 2023
Shelagh Galligan Professor
Division of Hematology/Oncology
Department of Pediatrics
Stanford University School of Medicine
Photo of Michael Snyder, Ph.D.
Snyder, Michael Ph.D.
Member until Dec. 2023
Chair of Genetics, Assoc. Chair for Research
Stanford University
Department of Genetics
Photo of Ronald Sokol
Sokol, Ronald, M.D.
Member until Oct. 2021
Endowed Chair
Children's Hospital Colorado
University of Colorado, Denver
Stewart, Ian J., M.D.
Assistant Professor of Medicine/Air Force Major
David Grant Medical Center
Clinical Investigation Facility
Photo of Lorraine Stiehl
Stiehl, Lorraine
Member until Oct. 2021
Stiehlworks Consulting
Photo of Gary Wu.
Wu, Gary, M.D.
Member until Dec. 2022
Associate Chief of Research
Ferdinand G. Weisbrod Professor in Gastroenterology
Perlman School Of Medicine
University of Pennsylvania
Last Reviewed October 2020