2021-2022 Oversight Board Members

Photo of Marja Hurley, M.D.

Marja Hurley, M.D.
Chair
Professor of Medicine and Orthopedics, UConn Health
Farmington, CT 06030-1850
hurley@uchc.edu

Myra Kleinpeter, M.D.
Past Chair
Associate Professor of Clinical Medicine, Department of Medicine/Nephrology, Tulane University School of Medicine
New Orleans, LA 70112
mkleinp@tulane.edu

Photo of Lynda Brown, Ph.D.

Lynda Brown, Ph.D.
Member
Chief Executive Office, Funding Pathways
Grant Director, New Journey
Greensboro, NC 27455
lmb_psalm1@yahoo.com

Photo of Ayotunde Dokun, M.D.

Ayotunde Dokun, M.D.
Member
Associate Professor, Department of Medicine, University of Tennessee Health Science Center
Memphis, TN 38163
dokun001@gmail.com

Bolni Nagalo, Ph.D.

Bolni Nagalo, Ph.D.
Member
Associate Consultant I, Dept. Hematology and Oncology, Molecular Medicine, Mayo Clinic Arizona
Tempe, AZ 85281
nagalo.bolni@mayo.edu

Photo of Rudy Ortiz, Ph.D.

Rudy Ortiz, Ph.D.
Member
Professor, University of California, Merced, School of Natural Sciences
Merced, CA 95343
rortiz@ucmerced.edu

Oversight Ad Hoc Members

Photo of Shirley Blanchard, Ph.D.

Shirley Blanchard, Ph.D.
Ad Hoc Member
Professor, Creighton University
Omaha, NE 68178
sblancha@creighton.edu

Photo of Virginia Sarapura, M.D.

Virginia Sarapura, M.D.
Ad Hoc Member
Professor, University of Colorado, Anschutz Medical Campus
Aurora, CO 80045
virginia.sarapura@ucdenver.edu

NIDDK Representatives

Photo of Lawrence Agodoa

Lawrence Agodoa, M.D.
NIDDK Representative
Director, Office of Minority Health Research Coordination, National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases, NIH
Bethesda, MD 20893-5454
agodoal@mail.nih.gov

Photo of Winnie Martinez

Winnie Martinez
NIDDK Representative
Program Officer, Network of Minority Health Research Investigators, National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases, NIH
Bethesda, MD 20893-5454
Winnie.Martinez@NIH.gov