Lab Members

Our Staff

Photo of Dr. James (Dusty) Barber
James (Dusty) Baber, Ph.D.
Staff Scientist

Next to carrying out NMR and EPR research, Dusty also maintains most of the shared NMR instruments in the groups headed by Drs. Bax and Clore

Photo of Dr. Yang Shen.
Yang Shen, Ph.D.
Staff Scientist

Development of NMR computational methods and software, including SPARTA, TALOS, POMONA, CS-ROSETTA and other programs

Next to managing the 900 MHz facility, Jinfa is focusing on software development, in particular for non-uniformly sampled data

Photo of Dr. Dennis Torchia
Dennis A. Torchia, Ph.D.
Scientist Emeritus

Our Fellows

Photo of Dr. Angus Robertson
Angus Robertson, Ph.D.
Visiting Fellow

Work focusing on amyloid and SARS-CoV-2 main protease

Photo of Dr. Sai Chaitanya Chiliveri
Sai Chaitanya Chiliveri, Ph.D.
Visiting Fellow

Structural and mechanistic insights into the viral membrane fusion of HIV-1 and SARS-CoV-2

Photo of Dr. Joseph Courtney
Joseph Courtney, Ph.D.
IRTA Fellow

Work focuses on real-time study of protein folding.

Photo of Dr. Tayeb Kakeshpour
Tayeb Kakeshpour, Ph.D.
Visiting Fellow

Research focus is on early events in amyloid formation of Alzheimer’s peptide and alpha-synuclein

Photo of Lili Masoumzadeh.
Lili Masoumzadeh, Ph.D.
Visiting Fellow
Research focus is on study of folding intermediates at high pressure
Photo of Marty Gelenter.
Marty Gelenter, Ph.D.
IRTA Fellow
Research focus is on understanding and characterizing the initial aggregation steps of amyloid formation.


Reid Alderson, Ph.D.
Post-doctoral Fellow
Jacob Anglister, Ph.D.
Igor Barani, M.D.
Radiation Oncologist
Ashley Barnes, Ph.D.
Health Science Policy Analyst
Jerome Boisbouvier, Ph.D.
Jerome Boisbouvier, Ph.D.
David Bryce, Ph.D.
Erin O'Neill Cabello, Ph.D.
Adjunct Professor, Columbia College of Missouri
Cyril Charlier, Ph.D.
CNRS Research Associate
James Jeiwen Chou, Ph.D.
Jordan Chill, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Gabriel Cornilescu, Ph.D.
Senior Scientist
Donald G. Davis, Ph.D.
Frank Delaglio, Ph.D.
Research Professor
Cedric Eichmann, Ph.D.
Senior Research Scientist
Nicholas Fitzkee, Ph.D.
Sander Gaemers, Ph.D.
Infinia Technical Manager at INEOS Aromatics
Yelena Gakh, Ph.D.
Primary Patent Examiner
Alexander Grishaev, Ph.D.
Principal Investigator
Stephan Grzesiek, Ph.D.
Zhu Guang, Ph.D.
Jin-Shan Hu, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Mitsuhiko Ikura, Ph.D.
Christopher Jaroniec, Ph.D.
Lukas Kaltschnee, Ph.D.
Scientific Staff Member
Lewis E. Kay, Ph.D.
Bernd W. König, Ph.D.
Group Leader, Forschungszentrum Juelich
Georg Kontaxis, Ph.D.
Hitoshi Kuboniwa, Ph.D.
Senior Vice President and General Manager of Pharmaceutical Technology Division at Chugai Pharmaceutical Co., Ltd
Nils-Alexander Lakomek, Ph.D.
Group Leader, Forschungszentrum Juelich
Jungho Lee, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Laura Lerner, Ph.D.
Fang Li, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Andy C. Liwang, Ph.D.
Justin Lorieau, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Alexander Maltsev, Ph.D.
Researcher, Google Inc.
Alexey Mantsyzov, Ph.D.
Staff Scientist at Moscow State University
Dominique Marion, Ph.D.
John L. Marquardt, Ph.D.
President and CEO at Rapafusyn Pharmaceuticals
Emeric Miclet, Ph.D.
Research Scientist
Christina R. Mozes, Ph.D.
NMR Spectroscopist and Biophysical Scientist
Marcel Ottiger, Ph.D.
CEO, Amphasys
Lisa Parsons, Ph.D.
Researcher, FDA
Venkatraman Ramanujam, Ph.D.
Research Scientist, Vanderbilt University
Benjamin Ramirez, Ph.D.
Facility Director at University of Illinois at Chicago
Julien Roche, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Tsega Solomon, Ph.D.
Post-doctoral Fellow
Susanta K. Sarkar, Ph.D.
Adjunct Associate Professor, Radiology, University of Pennsylvania; President, CadenzaMed LLC
Nikolaos Sgourakis, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Vladimir Sklenar, Ph.D.
Sankaran Subramanian, Ph.D.
Michael F. Summers, Ph.D.
Nico Tjandra, Ph.D.
Senior Investigator
Tobias Ulmer, Ph.D.
Beat Rolf Vögeli, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Geerten W. Vuister, Ph.D.
Jon Werner-Allen, Ph.D.
AAAS Science and Technology Policy Fellow
Zhengrong (Justin) Wu, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Lishan Yao, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Markus Zweckstetter, Ph.D.

Group Photos

Group photo 2016

A large group photo of NRM staff outside
Celebrating 33 years of protein NMR in NIDDK, former post-docs and colleagues gathered together at the NIH Cloisters

The Bax group around 2010

A group photo of the Bax group outside

The Bax group prior to a rafting trip in 2003

Group photo of the bax group wearing rafting gearTaking advantage of some heavy rainfall, the Bax group rafted down the Shenandoah River